Self-Care Tips for The Cancer Journey

Phosphorus Diagnostics
3 min readMay 21, 2018

--

Note: This post is written by Annie Parker, President and founder of the Annie Parker Foundation. Annie has been interviewed in multiple publications about her cancer experience, including Forbes magazine, Entertainment Weekly, and others. Since her diagnosis in 1980, she has been a fierce advocate for cancer awareness and advocacy and is a frequently sought public speaker on cancer-related issues.

No matter where you are in your cancer journey, self-care is integral to your overall recovery. Lots of people associate self-care with bubble baths and dim lighting. The truth is, different things work for different people. Some like to clean or do chores, some like to play games on their phone — it’s all good! During my journey, I found some things really worked for me and I’d like to share those in hopes that they might also support you.

1. Get creative

If I had to choose another career, I would be an interior designer! I love putting a space together and making it come to life. Choosing fabrics, looking at design pieces, and the entire creative process feel very rewarding. Getting to enjoy a space after I’ve designed its interior is a constant reminder of my hard work. A creative DIY project, big or small, is a great way that you also can feel a great, satisfying sense of accomplishment.

2. Laugh out loud

Binge watching I Love Lucy episodes? Yes, I’ve done it, and it never gets old. Laughter therapy is good for your overall health and wellness, because humour can help relieve physical and emotional stresses. Pick the things that tickle your funny bone and belly laugh until it hurts! 🙂

3. Look Good

Looking good is directly linked to feeling good. While retail therapy is not feasible for most of us, sometimes window shopping works just as well! I like to wander the malls looking at the latest trends, window shopping, trying on clothes, and buying pieces that I truly love. From that power pantsuit to the perfect pair of flannel pajamas, fashion is one of the ways I can feel good.

4. Reach Out to Friends

Friendships are extremely important, and contrary to popular belief, you don’t need a lot. “Quality, not quantity” is my motto when it comes to friends. A cancer diagnosis can certainly weed out true friends from fly-by-night buddies. A cancer patient’s life is busy, but a different kind of busy filled with appointments, resting etc. Since you take it a day at a time during treatment, you might have to cancel plans with friends last minute, not because you want to but because you are feeling physically or mentally unwell. After a while, friends might stop calling asking you to go out with them. I have a few key people in my life who I know I can rely on to actively listen to me no matter what is going on. Sometimes we don’t need anyone to “fix” us but rather to just listen, hear us out, and validate how we feel. Those bonds are so important, and for me, it’s just as important eating right. Don’t you feel good after a solid venting session, a hearty laugh, or a good cry? I definitely do. If you need support, reach out to a core group of friends who can lift you up; a group that is tried and true.

5. Do Your Homework

While going through my cancer recovery, I felt empowered by doing my homework. I researched, talked to professionals, and read a lot of books. Back in the day, there was no internet, so while it required some leg work, I was able to hone in on the area I was interested in through books. The internet is a great tool but can be very limited in terms of information, not to mention scary. Self-diagnosis or prognoses are inevitable and can quickly make you feel worse. Do your homework, ask questions, and talk to the professionals. For me, having as much information as possible about my health opened up my options and created an awareness which made me feel like I finally had some control.

--

--

Phosphorus Diagnostics

Phosphorus Diagnostics is using genomics to improve human health. We offer the most comprehensive, actionable #genetic test for disease prevention.